Where The Hell Is My Tag?

Posted: June 29, 2020 in politics

tagIt’s a simple thing really.  An inexpensive one or two inch square of fabric sewn to the inside back of the collar with all sorts of important and interesting information stitched or printed on it.  These ubiquitous little tags were everywhere! For guys, tags were on the inside back waistband. They were also on the inside of the back collar of our t-shirts. No one ever gave them much thought. They contained information like:  Wash instructions, dryer instructions, size and of course, the brand. These innocent little tags never hurt anyone and played an important role in our lives.  Then one day, Michael Jordan and Jackie Chan informed us that tags were evil and they were going to be removed! Who the Hell were they to make such a decision??? Who told them MY tags were evil and needed to be removed?

Well let me tell you! They took our tags. So I stopped buying Hanes! But it got worse! Other brands; GOOD but an and like Fruit of The Loom went tagless! No! It can’t be! What’s wrong with these companies and WHY are perfect buying them? Before long, they were gone.  Every manufacturer had done away with tags!. I always had tags.  I had grown up with tags. They were part of the very fabric of my life!They were on my tighty whitey’s, my t-sshirts, my sweatshirts, sweat pants, team jerseys! AAAAGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!

Yet one more example of how business really dictates everything; from fashions to food.  Ultimately are told what to wear and what to eat. What foods and fashions are in and which are out. From bell bottoms, to soy latte’s, nearly everything is “suggested” to us . Of course those “suggestions” seem to turn into trends, then everyone wearing and eating those things. I always had tags.  I had grown up with tags. They were part of the very fabric of my life.

Now I’m 54 and I MISS my tags! It’s not just nostalgia. It’s practicality. It’s being truly pragmatic. Look at your t-shirts and underwear that are a few years old. In place of the tag, they have some information printed on the inside waistband or collar. Well, USED to be printed. In a very short time, the printing fades and then simply disappears. Tags can be replaced. They are independent of the garment! Plus, once the printing fades away, you can’t tell (with t-shirts) the front from the back when putting them on! I can’t tell you how many times I put on a t-shirt only to realize it doesn’t feel right.

I take it off and look at the inside back collar SQUINTING to find printing and realize yes, my shirt was on backwards. That can’t happen when there’s a tag on a “T.” Likewise , grabbing a pair of underwear to put them on, first thing in the morning or in the dark is simple when you can just see or feel for the tag. Not so with printing that has washed out.

PLease, please bring back my tags! The only time I can get a tag on a t-shirt is when I order an expensive shirt on line like a custom printed T. For example, my Superman T is a premium, heavyweight, preshrunk,  100% cotton T. Then I chose the logo. IT HAS A TAG! Yet the average T in the store, for sale to the masses does not! So clearly it is simply a matter of price and profit. Now I ask you. How much could it POSSIBLY cost to put the tag back on my T or underwear? Pkease! I beg of you! Put the tags back on my T ‘s and underwear!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment